october and “la grève générale”


Autumn in Paris, Cour Palais Royal
Autumn in Paris, Cour Palais Royal

My family and friends ask me all the time, “When is the best season to come to Paris?” And I never know what to answer, for there is no “good ” season to visit Paris. I mean, you do different things in winter than in summer, but you still get to do things. And believe me, at the moment, it’s wonderful. Not only do you still get warm temperatures, but you can also see the leaves turning yellow and that’s something I really love about October. I’m not saying October is the best month for you to visit Paris, but I guess it has become my favorite month.

Have I mentioned yet that my birthday is coming up?  That might be why I see October as a “mois poétique” . Anyway, October is not always an easy month and especially this year it has been rather hard: visitors everywhere, MBA deadlines, strikes, terrorist threats. I mean, wow, I’m a pretty calm person, but it was a month that almost send me off-kilter.

Responder

