It ain’t me


Originally published in “Boricuolandia.wordpress.com

The primary legal divisions of Puerto Rico are termed “Municipios“, which may be the equivalent of a county in the United States.  There are 78 municipios in total and they are divided in turn into barrios. If you have ever been to Mexico, you may have certainly heard this term before.

Now, as you may know, Puerto Rico at first was the home for many tribes of Taino Indians, who influenced the names of many rivers, towns and cities of the island (such as Mayagüez, Caguas, and Humacao). So, when you come to Puerto Rico, there are certain city names that are tough to pronounce and to remember (even if you are a native Spanish speaker).

But let Tito Puente help you spark your interest in PR geography and after that I propose to “picture” the song on Google Maps:

El que usted conoce

Usted no me conoce a mi, qué va!
Usted no me conoce a mi
Pero usted no me conoce a mi, qué va!
Usted no me conoce a mi

Usted no me ha visto ni en Ponce, en Guayanilla o Manatí
Usted no me ha visto a mi en Loíza, Barrio Obrero o Hato Rey

Pero que usted no me conoce a mi, qué va!
Usted no me conoce a mi

El que usted conoce no soy yo. Ese no soy yo.
Pero que equivocado vive usted
Pero mire, mire que no soy yo
Es de Mayagüez que vengo yo
El que usted conoce no soy yo

Ponce
Let’s picture the song on a map:   A: Ponce ; B: Guayanilla ; C: Manatí ; D: Loíza ;
E: Barrio Obrero ; F: Hato Rey ; G: Mayagüez

Responder

